Executive Committee - Sunday Evening Planning Meeting

Note on this version: This document was placed here as a draft, which needs to be approved at the next meeting in Phoenix, October 2000. If this statement is still visible here after October 2000, it means the page was not updated. Unless a major change during the approval is made, this page is likely to stay in the draft format. If you see a major error contact Petr Vanysek. Since he is going on sabbatical leave to work with a company and may not be readily accessible, you may want to contact the webmaster of the main page instead.


Henry Hughes
Peter Hesketh (chair)
Joseph Stetter
Petr Vanysek
Simon Ang

1. The minutes of the previous Executive Committee Meeting were reviewed and a correction was made to proposal for Short Course on Microfabrication at the Phoenix meeting.  Minutes approved.

2. Hesketh read the results of the Sensor Division Award Committee.  The recommendations of the committee was unanimously approved.  Hesketh will inform the Society Awards Committee and once this has been approved inform the recipient.
The awardee will give a Keynote address at one of the sensor division symposia in Phoenix.  We will also cover the registration and lunch ticket for the awardee. (added after the award was publicly announced - the winner is Tony Ricco!)

3. Treasurer's report:
As of December 31, 1999 there was $ 23,642  in the Sensor Division Custodian Fund.  About $5000.00 was added from sales of the Seattle meeting Book of Abstracts and Sensor Division Proceeding Volume.  The Outstanding Achievement Award of the Sensor Division account balance was $ 6432 on December 31, 1999, which includes an addition of $ 364 in interest during the preceding six months.

4. Review of Phoenix Meeting:
a. Acoustic Wave Based Sensors VI organizers Hillman up date from e-mail by Hillman plans to send out a letter inviting participation In the symposium.

b. Microfabricated Systems and MEMS V.  A proceedings volume is planned.
8 Invited speakers have accepted Invitations to speak. $1K from the Sensor Division and another $1K from Electronics Division.
Unanimously approved.
(Note contact co-sponsoring divisions for approval of funding)

c. Microsensor Systems for Gas and Vapor Analysis.  Stetter gave update speakers have been Invited

d. Solid-State Ionic Devices, Vanysek gave update.

Motion to approve the short course on Microfabrication that will be taught by P. Hesketh and D. Babic was unanimously approved.  Syllabus had already been forwarded to Johna Leddy for consideration of the Education Committee.

5. Washington Meeting:

a. Corrosion Sensors.  Proceedings are planned.  Vanysek and others are
leading for the Sensor Division.

b. Bioelectroanalytical Chemistry.  Peter Vanysek will be the lead
organizer for the Sensor Division (with some help from Dick Crooks).

c. Electrode Arrays and Combinatorial Chemistry.   Request for support for 1 invited speaker for the Symposium on Combinatorial Arrays was approved by the committee.

d. DNA Sensors.  Cosponsors: New Technology Div. and Organic and
E-mail request for funding from Cindy Bruckner Lea was received for one speaker registration.  Unanimously approved by the committee.

e. The International Meeting on Olfaction and the Electronic Nose will be held and a proceedings volume will be produced for sale at the meeting. Attendees for this meeting will pay an additional registration fee to cover the cost of the proceedings volume, special banquet and a reception.  There will also be a technical exhibit.  Request for funding for support of 5 invited speaker registrations was approved.

It is important that Proceedings Volumes be available in time for sale at the meeting so that attendees can purchase them to enhance their participation.

6. San Francisco Meeting

Stetter proposed a short course on “The analytical chemistry of chemical sensors.”  To be offered at the San Francisco meeting Spring 2000.
Discussion of contents of short course followed and the course was unanimously approved.  Stetter will prepare a detailed syllabus and forward this to the Education Committee for their consideration.

We have one large Symposia on Chemical Sensors jointly with other Divisions of the ECS.  Petr will take the lead in coordinating papers and Joe will be available to meeting with Petr in Chicago to finalize the program. Other organizers who will be needed to assist in the coordination of abstracts into sessions are:
Organizers: P. Vanysek, M. Aizawa, S. Bruckenstein, M.A. Butler, E.J. Calvo, W.R. Heineman, A.R. Hillman, T. Matsue, J.W. Schultze, J.R. Stetter, N. Yamazoe

Add to the call for papers a line to request the author to identify a sub-topic area:
“Authors are requested to include a sub-topic area that would identify and include with the submission of their abstract.”


New materials and new methods for chemical sensing (Stetter and Hesketh)

Sensors for Process Monitoring (E. Stokes)

Integration of Sensors and Electronics (Ang and Hughes).

Proposal for guidelines for the student travel grant was presented by Hesketh and was modified by Vanysek.  Unanimously approved see appendix.

Meeting adjourn at 22:30.

Respectfully submitted

Peter J. Hesketh

Appendix:   Guidelines for Student Travel Grants

(1) Student must be member of the ECS or become a member of the ECS at the meeting.
(2) Student must be presenting a paper at the ECS.
(3) Student must be in a program of study towards an advanced degree at a University.
(4) Students must apply for funding at the time of the submission of their abstract to the ECS.

Budget set aside from the Sensor Division independent of any symposium will be up to $300 per meeting.  Note: it is not necessary to use this grant if no eligible students have applied.

Web version prepared by Petr Vanýsek 3 June 2000. No electrons used in production of this document were harmed or injured in any way.

ToHomeBack toSensor Page