This page reflects the original (before the new logo and java) format of the ECS webpage. Since it is hosted on another server, some of the links (particularly those to other ECS pages on the ECS server) may not work.




Established - May 19, 1988

Sensor science and technology are growing rapidly in response to an ever-increasing demand for faster, cheaper, smaller, and more sensitive means to monitor the chemical, biological, and physical world around us. The focus of the Sensor Division is chemical sensors, with secondary emphasis on biosensors, physical sensors, and the processing technology of microelectromechanical systems (MEMS). Sensors can have a global impact in many areas: environmental cleanup, industrial process control, emissions monitoring, aeronautical and space systems, planetary exploration, nonproliferation of weapons, screening for explosives and contraband, home and workplace safety, and medical diagnosis and care. The sensor provides some of the functionality of analytical instrumentation, but with vastly reduced cost, size, and power consumption, and an ability for real-time, in situ measurement.




for the terms of office November 2000 to October 2002

Dr. Joseph R. Stetter, Chairman
Illinois Institute of Technology
BCPS Department
Chicago, IL 60616
Phone: (312) 567-3443
FAX: (312) 567-3494

Prof. Richard Crooks, ViceHobbyNormal.gif (8446 bytes) Chairman
Department of Chemistry
Texas A&M University
College Station, TX 77843
Tel.: (979)- 845-5629
FAX: (979)-845-1399

Dr. Cindy Bruckner-Lea, Secretary-Treasurer
Newsletter Editor and Interface Representative
Pacific Northwest National Lab
P.O. Box 999 / MS K8-93
Richland, WA 99352
Phone: (509) 376-2175
Fax: (509) 376-1044

Dr. Jay W. Grate, Member-at-Large
Environmental Molecular Sciences Laboratory
Pacific Northwest National Laboratory
P.O. Box 999
Richland, WA 99352
Tel.: (509)-375-4547
FAX: (509)-375-5965

Prof. A. R. Hillman, Member-at-Large
Department of Chemistry
University of Leicester
University Road
Leicester LE1 7RH
Tel: +44-116-252-2144
FAX: +44-116-252-3789

Dr. Henry G. Hughes, Member-at-Large
Motorola SPS M.S. D-138
5005 E. McDowell Rd.l
Phoenix, AZ 85008
Tel.: (602)-244-6951
FAX: (602)-244-5429

Prof. Jiri (Art) Janata, Member-at-Large
School of Chemistry & Biochemistry
Georgia Inst of Technology
Atlanta, GA 30332
(Phone) 770 984-4828
(FAX) 770 984-8146

Prof. Mike Sailor, Member-at-Large
Dept of Chem, 0358
Univ of California, San Diego
La Jolla, CA 92093
(Phone) 619 534-8188
(FAX) 619 534-5383

Prof. Diane K. Smith, Member-at-Large
Dept of Chem
San Diego State Univ
San Diego, CA 92182
(Phone) 619 594-4839
FAX: (619) 594-4634

Dr. Frederick Yamagishi, Member-at-Large
HRL Laboratories, LLC
3011 Malibu Cyn. Rd.
Malibu, CA 90265
Tel.: (310) 317-5747
FAX: (310) 317-5484

Prof. Noboru Yamazoe, Member-at-Large
Department of materials Science and Technology
Graduate School of Engineering Sciences
Kyushu University
Kasuga-shi, Fukuoka 816, Japan
Tel.: +81-92-583-7537
FAX : +81-92-583-7539 (Lab.); +81-92-575-2318 (Dept.)

(A more complete list of the exectuive committee for the 2002-2004 period is at the bottom of this link:) enter.jpg (4264 bytes)


Sensor Division Executive Committee held in Salt Lake City on October 20, 2002.

Sensor Division Executive Committee held in Philadelphia on May  12, 2002.

Sensor Division Executive Committee held in San Francisco on September 2, 2001.

Sensor Division Executive Committee held in Washington DC on March 25, 2001.

Sensor Division Executive Committee held in Phoenix on October 22, 2000.

Sensor Division Executive Committee held in Toronto on May 14, 2000.

Sensor Division Executive Committee held in Honolulu on October 17, 1999.

Sensor Division Executive Committee held in Seattle on May 2, 1999.

Sensor Division Executive Committee held in Boston on November 1, 1998.

Sensor Division Business Meeting held in Boston on November 3, 1998.

Sensor Division Executive Committee held in San Diego on May 3, 1998.

Sensor Division Executive Committee held in Paris on August 31, 1997.

Sensor Division Business Meeting held in Paris on September 2, 1997.

Sensor Division Executive Committee held in Montreal on May 7, 1997.


2000 Sensor Division Newsletter.

1999 Sensor Division Newsletter.

1998 Sensor Division Newsletter.

1997 Sensor Division Newsletter.

1996 Sensor Division Newsletter.

1995 Sensor Division Newsletter.

1994 Sensor Division Newsletter.

1993 Sensor Division Newsletter.

1992 Sensor Division Newsletter.

1991 Sensor Division Newsletter.

1990 Sensor Division Newsletter.

1989 Sensor Division Newsletter.

1988 Sensor Division Newsletter.



"Click" here for a copy of the Divisional Bylaws.

"Click" here for information on the Sensor Division Award.

"Click" here for a list of sensor-related symposia.  (Download or display as an Excel file.)

"Click" here to send a group e-mail message to all the Solid-State Division and Group Chairmen who have e-mail addresses.

Originally Updated 13 November 1999  by Petr Vanysek, this page created and updated 25 June 2001 and updated 28 February 2008. Last updated 13 July 2016.

recycle3.gif (216 bytes) No new electrons were used while creating this page.atom.gif (1053 bytes)

Hit Counter